Has Zomato India Ruined It’s Most Viral Campaign of 2020?

It was all set to become a much bigger campaign that it is, right now!

Thakur Rahul Singh
7 min readOct 9, 2020
Zomato’s Conversation With A User
Zomato’s Conversation With A User (Source: Instagram)

Just the other night, I was scrolling through my Instagram feed. I stopped on an ad and rolled over my eyes.

It was a Zomato’s ad which was running maybe for the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti. It was a carousel ad, and I swiped left to look at everything. The ad was engaging, and it caught my attention because they were running a contest.

The prize money of the contest is 25 Lakh Rupees, which equals too $34K U.S Dollars. I can undoubtedly say that the prize involved in this contest is life-changing.

What I Like About This Zomato Ad

Zomato is an Indian delivery company which started in Delhi in 2008. In 2020, it is operating at 24 countries all over the globe. It has been on top of the online food delivery space in India. With lot of competitors who are trying to match Zomato’s standards are giving it a fair bit of headache.

To be a step ahead from their competitors — big companies like Zomato have to adopt viral marketing and advertising strategies.

Recently this Zomato ad seemed promising and had the potential to go viral. I wanna take you through the each…

--

--